image of the community first bank location

About Us


Since 1906, our bank has been serving Jefferson County, Illinois. From 1906 to 2008, we operated as First National Bank which was originally chartered in Woodlawn, IL. We are proud to have been the only national bank to survive the Depression in Jefferson County, and we’re proud of our history of service to Jefferson County.

In January, 2008, we changed our banking charter to a State Charter. We held a contest in which our customers would come up with a new name for our bank. It was named Community First Bank of the Heartland, and we really do strive to put Community First in everything we do. Today, we have locations in Mt. Vernon (42nd Street and Downtown), Dix and Woodlawn. With four banking locations and six ATMs, we offer the largest network of banking facilities in the Jefferson County community.

Our Lending Team:

Jo David Cummins- President/CEO

Jo Ann Joy- Senior Vice President

Ramona Flanigan- Vice President

Brandon Bullard- Director of Business Development

Our Mortgage Team:

Jared Knapp – Vice President
Karen Pelker – Assistant Vice President / Mortgage Lending

Our Agriculture Team:

Steve Down – Vice President
Jason Newell – Ag Loan Officer

Our New Accounts Team:

Main Location:

Debbie Ashby, 618-899-5685

Megan Moss, 618-244-3000 ext 1121

42nd Street West Location:

Maggie Bond, 618-244-3000 ext 1563

Jennifer Baum, 618-244-3000 ext 1514

Dix Location:

Mary Douthit, 618-244-3000 ext 1461

Woodlawn Location:

Debbie Bartolomucci, 618-244-3000 ext 1260